The Greenbrier resort in White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia, one of the most iconic resorts in the United States, will host its first ever Champions Series Tennis tour event Monday, September 13, 2021 as part of its Salute to Heroes Weekend, commemorating the 20th anniversary of the September 11 attacks on the United States.

The Greenbrier Champions Tennis Classic will feature 2003 U.S. Open champion and former world No. 1 Andy Roddick, former world No. 2 Tommy Haas, former world No. 4 James Blake and 2006 Australian Open runner-up Champions Series Tennis debutant Marcos Baghdatis. Champions Series Tennis is the North American tennis circuit for champion tennis players over the age of 30. Each event features two one-set semifinal matches followed by a one-set championship match. The winner will earn a $25,000 first-prize paycheck.

Tickets start at $30 and are on sale starting Friday, June 11 at VIP packages are also for sale, including play-with-the-pros opportunities, and are for sale at Proceeds for the event will benefit First Responders Children’s Foundation.

The event comes on the heels of the resort’s successful staging of the entire 2020 World TeamTennis season. All matches will be played at The Greenbrier’s beautiful 2,500-seat Center Court at Creekside Stadium, which has hosted many of the sport’s top players since opening in 2015.

The schedule of events for the Greenbrier Champions Tennis Classic are as follows

11:00am – Clinic A (Tommy Haas / Marcos Baghdatis)
12:00pm – Clinic B (Andy Roddick / James Blake)
1:00pm – Player Party Brunch Q&A (All Players)
2:00pm – Backstage Experience (Meet & Greet with All Players)
2:30pm – Semifinal #1 (Tommy Haas vs. James Blake)
3:30pm – Semifinal #2 (Andy Roddick vs. Marcos Baghdatis)
4:30pm – Final

In 2020, Haas, the former world No. 2, won the season-long points title for a second straight season, winning four titles – two at the Sherwood Country Club and two titles in Orlando – and finished with a 10-2 series match record.

In 2019, Haas finished with a perfect 10-0 record to win the year-long points championship for the first time. He won titles in Newport Beach, Calif., Maui, Hawaii, New Haven, Connecticut, Los Angeles and Houston to become the first player in the 15-year history of the Champions Series to be an undefeated year-end points champion.

In 2018, Blake won his first Champions Series year-long points championship by winning titles in Winston-Salem, New Haven and Houston, while also finishing as runner-up in Los Angeles and Orlando.
In 2017, the year-long points championship was decided in the final match of the season when Andy Roddick defeated James Blake in the Los Angeles final at the Sherwood Country Club. Roddick, the 2003 U.S. Open champion and world No. 1, won four Champions Series titles in all in 2017, winning in Birmingham, Ala., Chicago, Lincoln, Neb., and Los Angeles. Blake, the former world No. 4 and former U.S. Davis Cup star, won series titles in Charleston, S.C., Winston-Salem, N.C. and in Lynchburg, Va.

In 2016, Mark Philippoussis won the Series points title with 1,600 points and tournament titles in Memphis, Tulsa, Newport, Winston-Salem and New Haven. Roddick finished in second place, also earning 1600 points but losing the head-to-head tiebreaker with Philippoussis 5-2, while winning titles in Charleston, St. Louis, Los Angeles and Orlando.

Champions Series Tennis began in 2005 and over the last 16 years has featured some of the greatest names in men’s tennis, including Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi, John McEnroe, Bjorn Borg, Ivan Lendl, Stefan Edberg, Jim Courier, Michael Chang among others. Courier won the first Champions Series Tennis event held in 2005 in Houston at the Westside Tennis Club.